Money Message Principle #14: Listen to Your Soul – Part One.

Listening to and trusting in our soul is the most important work we have to do on earth. We were not born onto the earthly plane and then cut off from the source of life and guidance. This guidance lives in us and around us. The difficulty is that we have been conditioned away from listening to and trusting that voice deep inside us, which is the voice of our soul.

We live in a noisy world. As soon as we get up in the morning we are bombarded with opinions, others’ versions of reality. They come from everywhere—the media, our spouses and families, our fellow workers.

Part of this noise is our money baggage playing over and over in our minds. When we come to the point of wanting to create a new thought to build our life around, listening is the key. Listen to your soul. Ask your soul what are its highest thoughts about money?  What is it telling you to do? What is your purpose here? How can you fully express what you want to do with your life?

Oprah Winfrey modeled this process beautifully when, in a Newsweek article, “How I Got There,” she posed these questions: “How do I accelerate my humanity? How do I use who I am on earth for a purpose that’s bigger than myself? How do I align the energy of my soul with my personality and use my personality to serve my soul?”

Now comes the delicate part. You have to listen for the answer. You might hear a lot of silence at first, but that’s because we are not yet tuned in to this new frequency of information. Keep listening.

Ask your soul what its highest purpose is for you. Contemplate the power of money to help make the world a better and more loving place. As words or images or feelings begin to come, write them down. This will form the nucleus of your new money message. You
might start seeing yourself in a new work environment doing the work you have always dreamed of doing. You might see yourself volunteering, running for political office, pursuing a career in the arts, or quitting your job altogether and staying home with the kids. The
ideas you have or the images that come to you might seem unrealistic or unattainable, but don’t discount them. Write down the words that seem to fit what these images stimulate in you.

Keep in mind that the soul doesn’t wear a wristwatch. So if you don’t get an answer at first, don’t worry; it might come to you hours or days later. It might be an incremental understanding or a sudden inspiration. You might find yourself in a conversation with someone who stimulates thoughts about a new money message. You might walk into a bookstore and find yourself pulling a book off the shelf that has your answer in it. You might have a dream that will stimulate an idea about your money message.

Oliver took the workshop twice before his new money message became clear:

I am kind of a meat-and-potatoes guy. My friends say I’m pretty down-to-earth. I felt funny trying to come up with my “highest thoughts” about money and my soul. But,
I gave it a spin. Pretty soon some words came, so I wrote them down and I looked at them on paper: Money is energy and I am a diesel. As a farmer, I could relate to that. I shared it with my wife and went to bed.

I woke up in the middle of the night and I thought to myself, Money is energy and I am the sun. Then I immediately felt foolish. “Forget it Oliver,” I told myself. “Who are you trying to kid? Don’t even think of it.” And I went back to sleep.

When my wife woke up the morning, she turned to me and said, “Hey Oliver, you can say, ‘Money is energy and I am the sun’.”

I just about fell out of bed. I couldn’t believe it. She didn’t know that was the exact phrase that had come to me in the middle of the night. So, that became my new money message.  It felt audacious, really. When I said “Money is energy and I am the sun,” I thought I was the biggest fake.

I kept repeating it and putting it out where I could see it. I had to rearrange my cells a bit but I eventually came to fully believe my money message and live my life as if it were true.

The key to discovering your money message is simply to listen and let the words arise on their own. It may not feel natural at first, but trust the process. It may take a while for your soul to realize that you are listening to it.

 

More next week – Money Message Principle #14: Listen to Your Soul – Part Two.

Leave a Reply

