Money Message Principle #23A – Translation: A Powerful Tool

When we create a new money message, we begin to see new possibilities in our lives. It’s as if we are wearing a special lens, the lens of our money message, through which we can finally see more color, more resources, more options. Our old lens, the lens of our money baggage, limits our perception—like looking at a bowl of M&Ms® and seeing only the brown and yellow ones. With the money message lens, suddenly we see all the colors that had been impossible to see before, though they were there all along.

Once you create a money message and begin to take actions aligned with it, a peaceful, calm, self-trusting person begins to develop, and frustration and doubt recede. You begin to see new possibilities, options you couldn’t see or even imagine before. You start making decisions using your new money message to clarify your direction and guide your life.

All of us will eventually bump up against something that will bring our money baggage right back in front of us; we will forget our money message, not to mention the possibilities it allows. Maybe you find a new job where it seems as if life is fl owing, but then find
a few months later that you still are having trouble managing your spending habits. Or maybe you find that the number of hours you are working is creeping up to an unreasonable level. No matter what the circumstances, without knowing it, you’ll begin to operate from your money baggage again. It happens automatically, unconsciously.  At this point many people get frustrated, feel hopeless, and give up.

To get you through these bumpy places, I designed a powerful tool I call a translation. A translation is an exercise in which you first look at an issue through the lens of your old money baggage, and then you consider the same issue through the lens of your new
money message. It’s a deceptively simple but effective way to allow your money message to express itself in specific areas of your life.

Let me give you an example of a translation I did recently. An employee came in one day and gave her two-week notice. It was a particularly busy time at work and I already had several projects I was working on. When she gave her notice I thought to myself, This
is the last thing I want to deal with. I don’t have time. I’ll never get someone hired before she goes and then she won’t be around to train them. After I took a breath, I realized that my money baggage was screaming at me, telling me that I had to work hard and it wasn’t
going to turn out.

At that moment I did a translation. I wrote my money baggage down on the top of a sheet of paper: You have to work hard to make money, and even if you do, you’ll never make enough. Under it I wrote what my thoughts would be regarding hiring a new employee looking through the lens of my money baggage. They were: Finding a new employee will be hard. I’ll never find one by the time my current employee leaves. I don’t have time to write the advertisement for the paper and interview a bunch of people who won’t work out anyway. I was in a downward spiral, not seeing any possibilities for solving the problem in time.

On the other side of the paper I wrote my money message: It is my birthright to effortlessly have abundance in all areas of my life and I give generously from this abundance. Underneath that I wrote what my thoughts would be regarding hiring a new employee if I looked through the lens of my new money message. They were: I will effortlessly
find the perfect employee, who will be trained by my current employee before she leaves.

At that instant I saw the appropriate actions to take consistent with my new money message. I called my current employee and told her to write an advertisement to be posted on a job placement bulletin board at a local university which offers financial planning courses. I booked out six hours on my calendar to interview candidates and waited. In less than a week several qualified people submitted their resumé.

We had six candidates come in for interviews and four of them were equally qualified and perfect for the job. The hardest part was picking which to hire from the four best candidates. The first candidate I offered the job to accepted and was at work two hours later.  For the next two days he trained with the employee that was leaving.

Having my thoughts be shaped by my money message rather than my money baggage instantly opened me back up to the possibilities for how to handle the situation, options that were there all along, but which I couldn’t see as long as my money baggage was
influencing me. Once I focused on my money message, new avenues of action became obvious.

Translations are very simple and effective. If you do them whenever you feel stuck about something, new possibilities will quickly become apparent to you.

To do a translation take a blank piece of paper and divide it into two columns.  Write your money baggage at the top of the left column, and your new money message at the top of the right column.

Then pick the area to do a translation on—say, paying the bills.  Write in the left column under your money baggage how your money baggage is shaping your thoughts and behavior around paying bills. Looking through your money baggage lens, you may say: I
dread even looking at the bills because I’ll always just be squeaking by.

Then move to the right side of the page and write down the thought about paying bills as seen from your new money message perspective. Looking through your money message lens, you might say: I am completely accountable and use inventiveness and all the
resources and magic of the universe to have what I want.

With this new perspective, seen through your money message lens, you might schedule a time twice a month to pay your bills. You might even ask a friend to join you and bring their bills along so you can have fun and find mutual support, turning a once-dreaded chore into a pleasant task. Or if you are married, you could ask your partner if he or she would be willing to take over the bill-paying responsibilities in exchange for you doing something that he doesn’t particularly enjoy doing but you wouldn’t mind doing at all. You could set up as many of your bills to be paid automatically as possible.  You could hire a bookkeeper to pay your bills.

The possibilities for solving any problem are there before you all the time; you just can’t see them as options because of the narrow view through your money baggage lens.

 

Next – Money Message Principle #23B – A Continuation of Translation: A Powerful Tool

Leave a Reply

